The Security Council

The Security Council is primarily responsible for maintaining international peace and security. The Security Council Chamber was a gift from the Government of Norway and is also known as "the Norwegian Room".

Photo: NorwayUN/Marte Fløan Beisvåg.

Today the UN General Assembly elected five new non-permanent members to the Security Council. Chad, Chile, Lithuania, Nigeria and Saudi Arabia were elected for two-year terms beginning 1 January 2014. Read more

Bob Carr (behind name plate), Minister for Foreign Affairs of Australia, receives congratulations from a delegate. At left is Gary Francis Quinlan, Australia's Permanent Representative to the UN. 
Photo: UN Photo/Evan Schneider.

The General Assembly has elected Argentina, Australia, Luxembourg, Republic of Korea and Rwanda as new non-permanent members of the UN Security Council. Read more

A Security Council Chamber stripped of everything but concrete and a recess where the famous round Norwegian table stood. 
Photo: Martin Fossum/Norwegian General Consulate.

For the first time The Security Council Chamber is beeing renovated. And Norway has a special role in the restoration. Read more

The colourful mural by Norwegian artist Per Krogh features prominently in the UN Security Council chamber. It depicts a phoenix rising from its ashes, as a symbol of the world being rebuilt after the Second World War.  . 
Photo: UN Photo/DN.

Norway doesn’t have a permanent seat in the UN’s Security Council. The Security Council Chamber’s chairs and other interiors, however, are all Norwegian. Read more

A wide view of the Security Council Chamber at work. 
Photo: UN Photo/Mark Garten.

The Security Council has a primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security. Read more