Norway appointed to CERF's Advisory Group

9/17/2012 // UN Secretary-General appointed Norway's Susan Eckey as new Advisory Group Member for the United Nations humanitarian fund, CERF.

Susan Eckey, Minister Counsellor at the Mission of Norway, has been appointed member of the Advisory Group of the UN’s emergency response fund (CERF).

"It is a great honor and privilege to become a member of this Advisory Group. The CERF is a crucial tool for the UN’s ability to save lives and protect human dignity in areas affected by humanitarian crisis", said Ms. Eckey.

Susan Eckey visiting mine clearance outside Maputo, Mozambique.Susan Eckey visiting mine clearance outside Maputo, Mozambique.

On 13 September, United Nations Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon announced the appointment of seven new members of the Advisory Group of the Central Emergency Response Fund (CERF), the United Nations humanitarian fund. The group gives policy guidance and expert advice to the Secretary General through the Under-Secretary General for Humanitarian Affairs and Emergency Relief Coordinator, Valerie Amos, on the use and impact of CERF. The members of the group serve in their individual capacity.

“CERF grants save millions of lives,” said Ms. Amos. “The guidance of CERF Advisory Group members is key to helping OCHA manage the fund. Together we will ensure that CERF remains fast and flexible to help people in need.”

Susan Eckey has extensive background in humanitarian affairs, including as President of the Second Review Conference of the Mine Ban Convention and Ambassador for Humanitarian Affairs and Humanitarian Disarmament. Norway has been a staunch supporter of CERF, ranking as the fourth largest donor since CERF’s establishment in 2006.

The incoming Advisory Group members are:

  • Ms. Catherine Walker, First Assistant Director General of the Humanitarian and Stabilisation Division and Humanitarian Coordinator of the Australian Agency for International Development (AusAID).
  • Mr. Wenliang Yao, Commercial Counsellor of the Department of International Trade and Economic Affairs of China.
  • Ms. Nancy Butijer, Head of the Division for Economic Multilateral Relations, Economic and Social Issues, Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs of Croatia.
  • Mr. Mathewos Hunde Tulu, Director of Early Warning and Response Directorate, Disaster Management and Food Security Sector of the Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development of Ethiopia.
  • Ms. Yukie Osa, President of the Association for Aid and Relief and Professor in the Department of Sociology, Rikkyo University of Japan.
  • Ms. Susan Eckey, Minister Counsellor, Permanent Mission of Norway to the United Nations.
  • Ms. Susanna Moorehead, Director for Western and Southern Africa at the Department for International Development (DfID) of the United Kingdom.

These newly-appointed members will begin their term at the upcoming Advisory Group meeting, which will take place 30 - 31 October.

Read more on CERF's work here

CERF was established in 2006 to help agencies respond rapidly to new or deteriorating humanitarian situations. Since its establishment, more than 124 Member States and private sector donors have contributed $2.8 billion to CERF, which is administered by the UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA). The Fund has disbursed over $2.6 billion to help millions of people affected by natural disasters and conflict in 87 countries and territories.

Bookmark and Share