Norway`s Minister of Foreign Affairs, Jonas Gahr Støre, and Ministry official Steffen Kongstad, who led the negotiations on the cluster munitions ban, have been voted persons of the year by the prominent disarmament organisation Arms Control Association (ACA).  Read more

125 states are taking part in the signing ceremony in Oslo City Hall today. Four of them, including Norway, have already ratified the Convention. Read more

The resolution, that highlights concerns over the military use of uranium, was passed with 127 against 4 votes (34 abstained). Last time the First Committee voted on the resolution Norway abstained, but this year Norway changed the voting pattern. Read more

Foreword to the Convention on Cluster Munitions Signing Conference, Oslo 2 - 3 December 2008. Read more

It is very serious if reports that cluster munitions have been used on both sides of the Georgia conflict is correct, Norwegian government say in a press release today.   Read more